OAU Admission Courses and Requirements

The below information is to enhance a better knowledge to the entire public about the Obafemi Awolowo university (OAU) .  All the necessary information needed are given.  So I advice you to stick to this post to the end as it will be of a great benefit.

The goal is to endeavor that those who are interested in this piece of information will be very much updated on all that is needed and necessary to know.

History of the University

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife is one of three Universities established in Nigeria between 1961 and 1962 as a result of the report submitted to the Federal Government in September, 1960, by a Commission it appointed in April 1959 under the Chairmanship of Sir Eric Ashby, Master of Clare College, Cambridge, to survey the needs of post-secondary and higher education in Nigeria over the next twenty years. On 8th June, 1961 the Law providing for the  establishment of the Provisional Council of the University was formally inaugurated under the Chairmanship of Chief Rotimi Williams.

On 11th June, 1970, an Edict known as the University of Ife edict, 1970 was promulgated by the Government of the Western State to replace the Provisional Council Law of 8th June, 1961. This Edict has since been amended by the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (Amended) Edict No. 112 of 1975 (Transitional Provisions) Decree No.

23 of 1975. This new Decree effected a takeover of the Obafemi Awolowo University by the Federal Military Government and established a Provisional Council as an interim governing body of the University which shall subject to the general direction of the Head of the Federal Government, control the policies and finances of the University and manage its affairs. This Provisional Council has since been replaced by a Governing Council.

The University started with five Faculties – Agriculture, Arts, Economics and Social studies (now Social Sciences), Law and Science. Six new Faculties have since been added, namely the Faculty of Education (established on 1st October, 1967), the Faculty of Pharmacy (established on 1st October, 1969), the Faculties Technology and Health Sciences (now College of Health Sciences) (both established on 1st October, 1960), Faculty of Administration with effect from 1st October 1979)    and  Faculty   of   Environmental Design and Management (established on April 6, 1982).

In 1992, the University established a collegiate system with five Colleges. The system did not function effectively and was abandoned after two years. However, the Postgraduate College and the College of Health Sciences were retained. The College of Health Sciences now comprises of the Faculties of Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Dentistry.

Obafemi Awolowo University: Cool Facts About OAU - Oasdom

OAU Courses

Here are the list of courses and departments at Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU);

  • Accountancy/Accounting
  • Adult Education:
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  • Animal Science
  • Applied Geophysics
  • Architecture
  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Building
  • Business Administration
  • Business Administration
  • Chemical Engineering:
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Engineering:
  • Computer Science with (Economics) (Mathematics)
  • Computer Science with Economics
  • Computer Science with Mathematics
  • Crop Production and Protection
  • Demography and Social Statistics
  • Dentistry and Dental Surgery
  • Drama/Dramatic/Performing Arts
  • Economics
  • Education and Biology
  • Education and Chemistry:
  • Education and Economics
  • Education and English Language
  • Education and French:
  • Education and Geography
  • Education and History:
  • Education and Integrated Science:
  • Education and Language Arts:
  • Education and Mathematics
  • Education and Music:
  • Education and Physics
  • Education and Political Science
  • Education and Religious Studies
  • Education and Social Studies
  • Education and Yoruba
  • Education Fine and Applied Arts
  • Educational Management
  • Electrical/Electronic Engineering
  • Engineering Physics
  • English Language
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Estate Management
  • Family, Nutrition and Consumer Sciences
  • Fine Art:
  • Food Science and Technology
  • French
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • German
  • Guidance and Counselling
  • Health Education
  • History
  • Home Economics and Education
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Insurance and Actuarial Science
  • Integrated Science/Mathematics Education
  • International Relations
  • Law
  • Library and Information Science
  • Linguistics
  • Linguistics and African Languages
  • Literature in English
  • Local Government Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Medical Rehabilitation
  • Medicine and Surgery
  • Metallurgical and Material Engineering
  • Microbiology
  • Music
  • Nursing/Nursing Science
  • Nutrition and Consumers Services
  • Pharmacy
  • Philosophy
  • Physical and Health Education
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Portuguese
  • Psychology
  • Public Administration
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Religious Studies
  • Sociology and Anthropology
  • Soil Science
  • Statistics
  • Surveying and Geoinformatics
  • Teacher Education Science:
  • Urban and Regional Planning:
  • Yoruba
  • Zoology

NUGA to hold trials for world university games at Obafemi Awolowo  university - TODAY

OAU School Fees Schedule

OAU Faculty School Fees
Law, Arts, Social Sciences, Administration, Education Arts ₦68,700
Science, Technology, Agriculture ₦79,700
Basic Medical Science, Clinical Science, Pharmacy ₦82,700
Diploma in Local Government Studies ₦88,300

OAU Admission Requirements

Below are the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) general admission requirements, interested applicants are advised to take note.

  • Interested applicants must acquire a minimum of at least five (5) credit passes in relevant subjects which must include English Language and mathematics at GCE O’Level, WASCE, SSCE, NECO, or approved equivalents at not more than 2 sittings.
  • Applicants with Teachers Grade II (TC II) with passes at credit or merit levels in conjunction with credit passes in relevant subjects at GCE, WASCE, SSCE, NECO or approved equivalents may be considered. No subject may be counted at both TC II and GCE O/Level, WASCE, SSCE, NECO, or approved equivalents.
  • Interested applicants must score at least 200 pass marks in JAMB to qualify for internal screening by the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)
  • Candidates who made the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife their first choice in the UTME
  • Candidates who scored at least 200 and above in UTME
  • Candidates must participate in OAU POST-UTME

For more education, job  updates and recommendations, visit

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button